QuickBooks Guide- Printing Modified QuickBooks Invoices Without Saving Changes

Current versions of QuickBooks are set up, by default, to always automatically “save” an invoice before you can print it. A few years ago you weren’t forced to do this, you could make a change and print it, and then not save it. Why would someone want to do this? I’m not really sure of a valid business reason. Why should you NOT want to allow this? Bad employee behavior is the only thing that comes to mind.

So Intuit changed QuickBooks to make it automatically save before printing, which helps to get around this to some degree. And now people complain about this change and wonder how to get around it. So, for those of you who need this feature:

  1. Log in to QuickBooks as Admin user.
  2. Select Edit then Preferences and select the General preference.
  3. Select the Company Preferences tab, and un-check the box “Save transactions before printing”.
  4. Click OK to close the window.

QuickBooks will warn you that this isn’t secure, however it will still allow you to make the change! :)

Leave a Reply